Subscribe to our e-newsletter, Nursing Notes

< Back to Nursing Notes Nursing Updates

NAQC’s Guiding Principles for Patient Engagement

September 2012

On July 12, 2012, the Nursing Alliance for Quality Care (NAQC) released its Guiding Principles for Patient Engagement, a list of nine core principles designed to support nurses and other healthcare professionals in delivering high-quality, patient-centered care. The guidelines were developed to help guide the provider community in developing patient engagement models, as well as quality and safety interventions that support and encourage the patient and family to become partners in the patient's care.

The release of these principles is the first component of NAQC’s efforts to enhance nurses’ attitudes and behaviors to help patients become more involved in their own care. Over the next couple of months, NAQC will be discussing how to implement the principles with the nation’s leading nursing organizations, patient advocates and other provider groups. In November, NAQC will host a conference to help spark discussion of how to progress the principles to practical models of care delivery.

The guidelines are available on the NAQC website at

AACN Announces 2012 Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) recently announced the newest cohort of Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars. These scholars were selected through a national scholarship program funded by the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future.

This AACN-administered program was launched in September 2007 to provide generous financial support, mentoring and leadership development to graduate students from minority backgrounds who aspire to teach in our nation’s schools of nursing.

The following students, all of whom are currently enrolled in Ph.D. nursing programs, are the new Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars:

  • Nakia Charmaine Best, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Anissa S. Buhring, University of Colorado
  • Susana J. Calderon, Mennonite College of Nursing, Illinois State University
  • Renee McLeod-Sordjan, Adelphi University (NY)
  • Esther Smith-Howell, Indiana University-Purdue University

For more information about the Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars program, visit


^ Back to top